Pitch2Win 16/17 Finalist – Wren and Wilson

Hi my name is Jen and I am the founder and creative director of my business Wren & Wilson. I make fun, contemporary and original accessories and jewellery inspired by pop culture, nature and cute animals. I love creating and designing for my business as it feel great to be able to take an idea out of my brain and turn it into something tangible that people are excited about and want to buy!

I graduated from De Montfort University in 2013 with a degree in Fine Art and have been running Wren & Wilson for about a year now. I feel ready to take my business to the next step which is why I wanted to take part in DMU’s Pitch2Win.

The application process to take part in Pitch2Win was super quick and easy! It was during a business advice meeting with the Enterprise Team where I signed up and all you have to do is register and write a quick sentence about your business.

The actual presentation was a lot less scary than I thought it was going to be. I’d spent the week before preparing what I was going to say and timed myself talking as you only get three minutes to give the presentation! After the three minutes you get to have a chat with the judges which was great because you have three people completely engaged in what you’re saying and giving their full attention to your ideas and products. It was nice to take my business, which I know so well but is quite personal to me as I work on my own from home, and then take it to three strangers and bare all! It was really nice to see their reactions to my products and gave me some useful feedback.

I would definitely recommend taking part in the competition as the staff are really supportive and helpful and the process of actually giving the presentation and talking solely about your business is incredibly useful.

Leave a Reply

