Pitch2Win 16/17 Finalist – Waterwheels

I’m Chanelle and I am the founder of waterwheels – long story short – having studied as an undergraduate at Manchester Metropolitan University in 2016, I discovered a major problem linked with binge drinking and the student market. Fast forward a year, I am now studying a Masters in Digital Design at De Montfort University, developing a business and even better – winning Pitch2Win March 2017.

This is how it all started – I recognised that several national campaigns try to promote safe drinking, recommended limits and how much you should drink – fact is, as a student this is the last thing we would be considering when out with friends. With aspects such as peer pressure, freedom and the overload of alcohol promotions, drinking is very much key to the British culture; research also shows that students are more likely to drink, smoke and take drugs than the general population! Instead of discouraging students to drink before a night out, why not focus on aiding them after a night out? One thing which aids drunkenness is rehydration – which is where my business idea comes in.

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 20.39.03

waterwheels – rehydration when you need it most.

The concept will consist of a branded van providing bottled water to students the very moment they step out of a nightclub. Why? First of all is time. Over crowdedness and long queues in night life venues make it almost impossible to gain a bottle of water. Second is location. Supermarkets are closed, and usually takeaways are a never ending walk away, especially when under the influence of alcohol. Thirdly is price. Although tap water is free (and horrible) prices of bottled water are way over £2. My concept aims to demolish the current issues, making it convenient for students to rehydrate the moment they need it most.

As part of my Masters final project, I am currently developing it digitally through branding, website design and mobile app design but I really wanted further support to make it more than a university project.

My Pitch2Win experience has been an overwhelming experience to say the least. Having only three minutes to present my idea I was amazed when I won it! The judges had positive feedback on the idea and were impressed on the research I had conducted and how the concept attempts to solve a real-life problem. I would certainly recommend this experience to anyone who wants to start a business, even if its at an early stage like mine. It has provided me with a great platform and opportunity to potentially launch it into a business – watch this space!

Leave a Reply

